Skip to content

Ever want to be someone else?

February 6, 2010

I used to have an ad from the movie Being John Malkovich hanging in my old bedroom that read ‘Ever want to be someone else?’  It was… and still is the inspiration for many of my self-portrait shoots.  I hate having my picture taken, but these aren’t about pictures of ME per say.  There is something refreshing about doing yourself up to look like someone else and stepping away from your own life for a few hours. 

I am fascinated with that special place where motion and still photography meet… and find myself endlessly experimenting with long exposures and motion. These are from a shoot I did a few years ago; a set titled fairytales.  All shots were taken with a lensbaby 3G, converted to b&w in photoshop.  I love the contrast, blur and grainy appearance.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2010 12:53 pm

    Beautiful shot and magnificent bw, bravo!

  2. justin permalink
    February 6, 2010 7:50 pm

    Shannon I must say I enjoy reading your photos. I am inspired to experiment with self portraits (and I too don’t like being photographed). The blurred and clear shots next to each other look great!
    Keep em coming, It’s good stuff!!

Leave a Reply

