Skip to content

i am in love with a girl named holga

February 8, 2010

It has been a couple weeks since I started posting my work and I feel it is time to do a little homage to one of my favorite types  of cameras: the plastic toy variety.  Sure, they have become somewhat trendy as of late (entirely overpriced and available at urban outfitters everywhere), but I bought my first holga years ago at the recommendation of my good friend Sarah Dowd… and have been in love ever since.  Film was what got me into photography in the first place (I was entirely resistant of this digital stuff for YEARS)… and there is something irresistable about this medium format little creature, held together by gaffers tape — the double exposures, the light leaks, the soft focus.  I fall in love again every roll of film I have processed and see what new happy accident or curious gem that awaits me.  Here are a few of my favorites from my dear holga.


2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2011 3:16 am

    Love it…been messing with the Lo-fi app’s retro look myself…these are good I like East Village and Holga net 4sm…fought the digital changes myself and few years ago…had to eat some crow

    • March 19, 2011 11:24 am

      I enjoy the freedom of digital, but mixing the two assists in keeping vision and creative expression fresh. I love how easy digital can be–yet nothing beats that feeling of picking up a roll of film at the lab and finding a shot that takes your breath away. I try to keep my shooting mixed, and love the experimental nature of holgas, pinhole cameras and random vintage finds. I have to admit, I have a bit of an obsession with collecting cameras. Thanks for taking the time to follow my work, I really appreciate your kind words.

Leave a Reply

