Skip to content

obscured view

May 2, 2010

I realize (once again) I have been slacking on my posting.  I admit, I have been in a bit of a funk lately, but I think the past week or two have definitely snapped me out of it.  Sometimes it just takes a little time, some good music (thanks to the Roebucks and She Keeps Bees) and some time with friends to make you realize all those little things getting you down REALLY don’t matter.  I am lucky enough to have a great job, amazing friends and a beautiful apartment in this exciting city that I truly love.  As quoted from American Beauty “It’s a great thing when you realize you still have the ability to surprise yourself.” (one of my favorite movies ever) And it’s true…the only thing that has been holding me back is myself.  So in the words of Melissa I am “shutting it down.”

Yesterday I had a long (and exhausting) shoot with a DJ for his website…it was great to work with a client who was really willing to let me get experimental.  I think we came up with some amazing shots, but before I dove back into editing client images, I wanted to tackle a little personal work to get the creativity flowing.  I shot these back in January, playing around with some stones and marbles I had around the apartment and testing out my 50 mm macro reverse ring.  This has to be one of the best buys of my photographic journey measuring fun factor vs. cost. Samples from the DJ shoot soon to come.  As always C&C are welcome.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2010 3:55 pm

    the top one is my favourite – texture, blur, depth and mystery. Glad your still posting – you have some interesting photos here.

  2. May 2, 2010 9:29 pm

    I like this ‘obscured’ stream.

    4th one is my favorite – it looks like a crystal ball (with self-portrait?) and I like the soft tone on this capture.

    • May 3, 2010 6:50 am

      yes, thats me alright. usually my reflection in these types of images bothers me, but i found this one a little amusing. thanks for taking the time to look/comment.

  3. Dimitry permalink
    May 3, 2010 10:44 am

    It was a long and exhausting day… I think you were trying to make me sweat on purpose ;oP
    Thanks for all the time and effort you put in… I know you will do a great job with editing as if they come out anywhere near the work I’ve seen you do already that I am a fan of I have nothing to worry about.

Leave a Reply

