Skip to content

Spring Cleaning: Gaining Perspective

March 12, 2011

These past few weeks have been difficult — and it’s hard to even verbalize why. It seems like things have been weighing on me much harder than they should have: thoughts, memories, hopes, regrets. Maybe it’s the long, hard winter we’ve been through…being driven inside to avoid frigid temperatures, ice and cold rain; the time spent indoors fueling my racing thoughts. I have found myself stuck in a bit of a rut of sorts. Lacking motivation, lacking inspiration…and that fact bothers me a great deal…but instead of making myself get back into the art I love so much, I have just avoided facing it.

I decided to take last night off. I wasn’t overly tired…I just needed some “me time”… to think…maybe figure things out… and maybe I did….or maybe not. At this point, I don’t really know. But what I DO know is I woke up, brewed myself some coffee, put on some loud music… and finally took the time to go back through some work I had avoided for months. And you know what? I feel a little better. Spring is coming, time for a refreshed perspective on things.

These are a few shots I took back in November when a close friend from Florida came to visit — a fellow photographer who inspired me to wander with my camera and see things a little differently than maybe I would have by myself. I took these shots at one of my favorite thinking spots — a place I visit often, but for some reason rarely bring my camera. Looking back through them reminded me how much I truly love living here…..

Yes, I feel far away from my family and the close-knit group of friends I left in St Augustine. Yet somehow, I know this is where I belong right now.  I am proud of how far I have come since arriving a little over 3 years ago. I love my job, I love my friends, I love this whirlwind of a city I call home.  Sometimes maybe you just need a little time by yourself to gain that perspective you need.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. dustin permalink
    March 15, 2011 10:36 pm

    even Jesus went alone..in the mountains to pray ? think ? create ? meditate…often, he wept i agree with you…was that chrissywho came with a camera ? just wandering peace

    • March 15, 2011 10:53 pm

      Lol. No, if you are referring to the Chrissy I am thinking of (the only one I know), we weren’t exactly friends. All water under the bridge, but no cross country trips going on there.

  2. March 18, 2011 2:27 pm

    wow! you just put into words the way I have been feeling recently…I left my camera in the case for weeks…did not mess with the business of photography at all…it was gnawing at me to get to work, but just kept thinking I would retreat and go back to photos just for myself…feeling selfish i suppose…however I promised an expectant mother that when her son was born I would be there for her and his birth kinda kicked me into gear…that and messing around with the Lo-fi app from Alien Skin Software…so in the last couple of weeks I have lined up 4 clients possibly 5 and taken so many shots I will never get them all edited!!! i guess you are right maybe it was the winter…’course you would think we would be all over that dreary winter landscape with our cameras in hand…I mean think about it with a good melancholy attitude and a nice winter landscape no telling what we could produce…oh well thanks for the blog ma’am and I LOVE those pics…keep at it…..!

Leave a Reply

